Committee Elections 2019


Following the annual general meeting of the Aviation Club of the United Kingdom, the largest alliance of its kind in the world, chairman Karl Brünjes was able to confirm speakers until the end of the year and announce committee membership.

The event, held at the club’s London home, the Institute of Directors in London’s Pall Mall, coincided with guest speaker JetBlue CEO Robin Hayes confirming the airline plans to start transatlantic services to London in 2021 (see news item).

Speakers for the balance of 2019 are as follows:

·       Wednesday 12 June – Paulo Mirpuri, CEO Hi fly
·       Thursday 19 September – Paul Griffiths, CEO Dubai Airports
·       Thursday 7 November – Oscar Munoz, CEO United Airlines
·       Thursday 5 December – Warren East, CEO Rolls-Royce plc

The annual reception takes place at 18:30 on Thursday 11 July.

2019 – 2020 Committee (New members shown thus *)

Karl Brunjes (Chairperson) – RPK Capital

Donna Ager – Maples & Calder

Michael Blunt (re-elected for second term and Vice Chairperson) – oneworld)

Irena Badelska – Amedeo *

Nick Fadugba – African Aviation Services Ltd

Arnaud Fiscel – Bank of China

Malcolm Ginsberg – Business Travel News *

Sylvain Gloux – CargoLogic Management

Jeremy Green – Hayward & Green Aviation

Jane Johnston – NATS

James McCarthy – Dynam Aviation

Nigel Milton – Heathrow Airport

Philip Tozer-Pennington – Airline Economics *

Clive Richardson – Access Media & Events *

Philip Skinner – AMS Aircraft Services

Jane Thompson – ICF *

Tony Whitty (Treasurer) – Air Partner

The Chairman thanked those members departing the Committee, with a special note of thanks to John Strickland, who came to the end of a two year term after heading up the Speaker Working Group and Victoria Hartley, Club Treasurer for the past four years.

Tony Whitty will assume the role of Treasurer and Michael Blunt will remain Vice Chairperson.